

## **Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability**

## **REGULAR MEETING MINUTES**

## October 20, 2021, 1:30 P.M. 5<sup>th</sup> Floor Conference Room 840 Research Parkway Oklahoma City, OK 73104

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT:	Dr. Joanna Lein, Katherine Nations, Dalton Savage, Kenneth Parker and John Daniel. Secretary Ryan Walters arrived at 3:10 p.m.
COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT:	None
OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES:	Office of Educational Quality and Accountability Staff: Renée Launey-Rodolf, Jerry Shay, Jennifer Gambrell, Angie Bookout, Lecrecia Schmidt, David Kurt, and Ashley Poole
VISITORS:	None

Call to Order: Dr. Joanna Lein called the meeting to order at 1:34 p.m.

**Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call:** Dr. Lein asked for the roll call to be taken. Five Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Welcome from Ms. Renee Launey-Rodolf: Ms. Renee Launey-Rodolf, OEQA Director, welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Page 1 of 3

**Approval of Minutes from the August 11, 2021 Commission Meeting:** Dr Lein made a motion to approve the minutes of the August 11, 2021 Commission special meeting as submitted. Mr. Daniel seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:	approve	Ms. Nations:	approve
Dr. Lein:	approve	Mr. Parker:	approve
Mr. Savage:	approve	Secretary Walters:	absent

**Program Updates:** David Kurt gave updates on his progress with the upcoming transfer audits. Angie Bookout gave an update on the School Performance Reviews, informing the Commission that Crescent Public Schools are scheduled for a review. Jennifer Gambrell gave an update on the PPAT Roadshow and National Board. Renee Launey-Rodolf updated the Commission on test development and current Interim Studies in which the OEQA has been involved.

New Business: None.

## Announcements: None

**Proposed Executive Session Pursuant to 25 O.S. §307(B)(1):** Ms. Nations made the motion to enter into Executive Session, as authorized by 25 O.S. §307(B)(1) for Commission to "discuss employment, hiring, appointment, promotion, demotion, disciplining, or resignation" of an Executive Director for OEQA. Mr. Savage seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:	approve	Ms. Nations:	approve
Dr. Lein:	approve	Mr. Parker:	approve
Mr. Savage:	approve	Secretary Walters:	absent

\*\*Secretary Walters arrived at 3:10pm and entered Executive Session

Commissioners interviewed Candidates A, B, and C for the Executive Director position. Minutes for the Executive Session were taken by Dr. Joanna Lein and sealed.

**Vote to return to Open Session:** Mr. Parker made a motion to return to Open Session. Secretary Walters seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:	approve	Ms. Nations:	approve
Dr. Lein:	approve	Mr. Parker:	approve
Mr. Savage:	approve	Secretary Walters:	approve

The meeting adjourned at 5:04 p.m. The minutes of the October 20, 2021 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

as submitted

with corrections

on November 17, 2021.

Signed:

Secretary Ryan Walters

Ms. Renee Launey-Rodolf, OEQA Director

Page 3 of 3